Author Topic: Simple fix for Conky?  (Read 593 times)

Offline hobocaver

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma +0/-0
  • Curious Pinguy
Simple fix for Conky?
« on: September 25, 2010, 07:04:27 pm »
Hi        my user name is hobocaver, now trying PinguyOS live. I really like it; superb work! If you would reply to this thread, I will pick it up next time I run live. Can Conky be uninstalled? Can it be set up as an application to turn on when needed? I am not proficient with CLI, but am trying to learn basics. Can it be turned off/ on in the start-up menu? My laptop is a Toshiba, AMD Turion, dual core. When I install this, it will be dual boot with a small, new Mint 9. Grub2 should pick both OS.  Thank you for help, in advance.

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter


Offline yugnip

  • Junior
  • **
  • Posts: 60
  • Karma +2/-0
  • Curious Yugnip
Re: Simple fix for Conky?
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2010, 07:47:09 pm »
Hi. You can stop Conky by opening terminal and typing (without quotes) "killall conky". You can run it again by typing "alt-F2" (run command) and then typing "Conky". If you prefer it to not start at login, go to apps/preferences/startup items and un-tick Conky. You could always uninstall it, but I would recommend keeping it. It's really a great tool for a beginner to learn some CLI and coding, and nice eye candy to boot.

Offline hobocaver

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma +0/-0
  • Curious Pinguy
Re: Simple fix for Conky?
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2010, 08:55:39 pm »
Thank you for the scripts; I like Conky and want to use it, but did not like the fact that it was always opaque, ie, in the way.

Offline Craig

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma +0/-0
  • Curious Pinguy
Re: Simple fix for Conky?
« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2010, 05:58:17 pm »
Is it showing on top of your windows or something? It's not supposed to be in the way.